How do you start a global environmental movement? – Greenpeace International

Angel

This month the Climate Strikes rang out around the world with millions of people taking part in activities, protests, and marches.

Two organisers from Fridays for Future in Sweden – Andreas Magnusson, 15, and Ell Ottosson Jarl, 18 – spoke to one of the founding members of Greenpeace, Rex Weyler, 72, about what got them into the movement, what keeps them going, and some tips for building resilience. We were lucky enough to be in the room.

al-environmental-movement-greenpeace-international.jpg

Left to right: Andreas Magnusson, Ell Ottosson Jarl and Rex Weyler meeting in Amsterdam. © Simon Black / Greenpeace

Do you remember the moment you first decided you had to take action? What was it?

Andreas Magnusson (AM):
I always lived close to the forest and nature and it was always nice to go out there and to just be. My father took me out there every day since I was a child. I started learning about things like climate change in school but then they went to the next topic and continued. And I thought … that film you showed just told me we are going to die in 30 years and you are continuing [with the class]? I’ve been reading and watching documentaries and learning and I felt so sick, thinking what can I do about this? Now I’ve been an activist for over a year and it’s been a hell of a year.

Ell Ottosson Jarl (EO): I watched a YouTube video about mass extinctions. It was something I didn’t know about before and I got really interested, so I started researching and I found lots of papers on a bunch of different things, so I binge-read for about two weeks straight.